New Cabinet to be sworn in today. 17 Cabinet ministers are to be sworn in by the President at 10.30 am. 21 State ministers are to be sworn in by the President.

State Ministers

Arundika Fernando – Plantations State Minister
Lohan Rathwatthe – Urban Development State Minister
Tharaka Balasooriya – Foreign Affairs
Sanath Nishantha – Water Supply State Minister
Prasanna Ranaweera – Industrial State Minister

Cabinet Ministers

Minister of Health – Prof. Channa Channa Jayasumana
Minister of Education – Ramesh Pathirana
Minister of Mass Media – Dr. Nalaka Godahewa
Minister of Power and Energy – Kanchana Wijesekara
Minister of Home Affairs, Provincial Councils and Local Government – Dinesh Gunawardane
Minister of Fisheries – Douglas Devananda
Minister of Public Security and Tourism – Prasanna Ranatunge
Minister of Transport and Industries – Dilum Amunugama
Minister of Roads Development – Kanaka Herath
Minister of Labour – Vidura Wickramanayaka
Minister of Agriculture and Irregation – Janaka wakkumbura
Minister of Trade and Samurdi – Shehan Semasinghe
Minister of Water Supply – Mohan Priyadarshana De Silva
Minister of wild Life – Wimalaweera Dissanayake
Minister of youth and Sports – Thenuka Vidanagamage
Minister of Environment – Naseer Ahamed
Minister of Ports – Pramitha Bandara Thennakoon

Chamal Rajapaksa, Basil Rajapaksa, Namal Rajapaksa and Shasheendra Rajapaksa NOT appointed to the new Cabinet.

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has stated that a limited cabinet will be appointed to run the government. The President has stated that he will NOT resigned and he is acting in accordance with the Constitution and will not take any action outside it. Several former ministers have stated that they do not want ministerial posts and have appointed a group of young people to run the cabinet.

On April 4, all Cabinet Ministers resigned from their portfolios due to wave of protests.

On April 4th, a temporary Cabinet sworn in until a permanent Cabinet is formed. Accordingly Ali Sabry – Finance Minister, Dinesh Gunawardena – Education Minister, Prof. G. L Peiris – Foreign Affairs Minister and Johnston Fernando – Minister of Highways sworn in.