The 29 th death anniversary of Lieutenant General Denzil Kobbekaduwa, one of the finest war veterans ever produced by the Sri Lanka Army in contemporary times and nine other veteran War Heroes falls today (8th August). Several commemorative programmes, organized by his Regiment, Sri Lanka Armoured Corps (SLAC) are scheduled to take place at Anuradhapura and elsewhere throughout the day.
Lieutenant General Denzil Kobbekaduwa, together with Major General Vijaya Wimalarathne, Rear Admiral Mohan Jayamaha, Lieutenant Colonel H.R Stephen, Lieutenant Colonel G.H. Ariyarathne, Lieutenant Colonel Y.N Palipana, Commander Asanga Lankathilaka, Lieutenant Colonel Nalin de Alwis, Lieutenant Commander C.B. Wijepura and the soldier, Private W.J Wickremasinghe fell victim to an LTTE land mine at Araly Point, Kayts, Jaffna on 8th August 1992.

Memory of Legendary Lt Gen Denzil Kobbekaduwa & Other Veterans Immortalized on 29th Anniversary Day
Lieutenant General Denzil Kobbekaduwa died along with several other military leaders while they were on a military assignment in Araly Point, Kayts, Jaffna