Heated arguments erupted in Parliament over the appointment of UNP MP Wajira Abeywardhane as the acting Chairman of the Committee on Public Finance.

Chief Opposition Whip Lakshman Kiriella objected to Abeywardene’s appointment saying it is against Standing Orders. “ The Acting Chairman should also be from the opposition as per the standing orders. The speaker should not allow this violation,” he said.

MP Nimal Lanza said opposition Member Patali Champika Ranawaka was nominated as the acting Chairman but he declined to accept the post. “Any member can be appointed as the Acting Chairman if no one from the opposition accepts the post,” he said.

Minister Manusha Nanayakkara said SJB  MP Mayantha Dissanayake, who was appointed as the chairman initially resigned as a result of pressure mounted by the party leadership. “ The matter is actually an internal issue within SJB” he said.

source daily mirror