The Department of Immigration and Emigration announces that a free Visa regime is implemented for nationals of China, India, Indonesia, Russia, Thailand, Malaysia, and Japan with immediate effect, until 31 March 2024, launching as a pilot program to rebuild the tourism industry in line with the Cabinet of Ministers approval.

Issuing a statement, the department mentioned that the foreign nationals of the above-nominated countries possessing Diplomatic, Official, Public Affairs, Service, and Ordinary passports are eligible to enjoy a visa-free regime under this scheme accordingly.

Meanwhile, the aforesaid nationals should apply for Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) before arriving in Sri Lanka subject to granting free of charge up to 31.03.2024, it added.

Under this scheme tourists can enjoy a 30 days free visa period and a double entry facility is permitted from the date of first arrival to Sri Lanka within 30 days, the statement mentioned.

Furthermore, free ETA under this scheme can be applied up to 31.03.2024, the department said, highlighting that this free ETA cannot be extended further and is limited only to 30 days. 

“In case the free ETA period of 30 days from the arrival date expires after 31.03.2024, an extension of visa could be applied subject to paying the appropriate fee”, it said.

Moreover, the Controller (Visa) for Controller General of the Department of Immigration and Emigration took into note that this particular visa-free regime applies to the above seven nominated countries and the rest of the countries may follow the general rules and regulations applicable to Sri Lanka ETA.


Granting tourist Visa up to 180 days at one instance for tourists arrive via electronic tourist approval.