The Cabinet has approved a pilot project that allows visa-free entry to visitors from seven countries, which includes India, China and Russia. 

Tourism Minister Harin Fernando said the pilot project is scheduled to be in effect till March 31, 2024.

In a tweet, Minister Fernando revealed that the Cabinet has approved visa-free entry for visitors from India, China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia and Thailand, and this policy will be effective immediately.

Last week, the Ministry of Tourism announced that a Cabinet Paper had been presented during the previous Cabinet meeting, proposing the issue of free tourist visas to foreigners from five countries who intend to visit Sri Lanka as tourists.

Visa charges for several categories increased