Sri Lanka Parliament is scheduled to convene today (5) at 10.00 am with Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena presiding.

Security forces have strengthen the security to the complex and surrounding areas.

According to political sources, about 50 members of parliament have decided to leave the ruling party and become independent members of parliament.