Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) Parliamentarian Dr. Harsha de Silva has been appointed the Chairman of the Committee on Public Finance (COPF), the Parliamentary Communications Department said.

The Committee of Selection of the Parliament has decided today (07) to nominate him as the Chairman of the fourth session of ninth Parliament.

This appointment has been made in accordance with Standing Orders 121, and the first meeting of the Committee on Public Finance will be held this afternoon under the chairmanship of Dr. Harsha De Silva.

MP Harsha de Silva had also held the position of Chairman of the COPF during the third session of the Ninth Parliament.

The opposition parliamentarian said that his name was nominated by President Ranil Wickremesinghe himself and that it was unanimously approved by all members.

source adaderana