The petition submitted to the Supreme Court regarding the official term of the President is scheduled to be taken up for consideration today (08).

The petition will be heard before a five-judge bench.

A five-member Supreme Court bench consisting of Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, Vijith Malalgoda, Murdu Fernando, Preethi Padman Surasena and S. Thurairaja was named recently to consider the petition.

The petition requests that an interim order be issued to prevent the holding of the presidential election within the currently scheduled period until the court delivers its interpretation on the date of the next presidential election.

The petition was filed by an entrepreneur named C.D. Lenawa last Wednesday (3).

Meanwhile, Rohana Hettiarachchi, executive director of People’s Action for Free and Fair Elections (PAFRAL) organisation, said that if the government tries to postpone the election, strict action will be taken against it before the law.