Uddika Premarathne of Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) has resigned as a Member of Parliament.

The Anuradhapura District parliamentarian has handed over the letter of resignation to the Deputy General Secretary of Parliament Mr. Chaminda Kularatne, earlier today (Feb.27).

Accordingly, in accordance with Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act No. 1 of 1981, the Secretary General of the Parliament is to inform the Chairman of the Election Commission that the seat of Uddika Premarathne, Member of Parliament in the Ninth Parliament, is vacant, the Communication Department of Parliament said in a press release.

In 2020, the popular actor was announced as a candidate for the 2020 parliamentary election from the Anuradhapura District as a member of the Sri Lanka People’s Freedom Alliance, a political alliance led by the SLPP formed in 2019. 

He obtained 133,550 votes and won a seat in the 16th Parliament of Sri Lanka.

Premarathne is yet to announce the reason for his resignation from the parliament.