Sri Lanka’s first match of the T20 World Cup will be against Namibia on October 18 in Abu Dhabi at 7.30pm IST. Second match will be against Ireland on October 20 and 3rd match against Netherlands on October 22. Sri Lanka is in Group A with Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia.

Time – 07:30 PM
Live Telecast Television – Siyatha TV, Start Sports
Radio – SLBC
Webcast Sinhala Audio – link

Sri Lanka National Team will be wearing Black Arm Bands during today’s T20 World Cup Game as a Tribute to late Bandula Warnapura.

The Teams
With a number of new faces, there is an opportunity for a number of Sri Lanka’s players to step up for their country, though the strengths lie in their middle-over batting and their numerous options on the bowling side.

Wanindu Hasaranga sits in second on the MRF Tyres ICC T20I bowling rankings, averaging 13.15 with the ball at a rate of less than a run a ball. Hasaranga will no doubt play a role with the bat, currently going at a strike rate of 131.34 in T20I cricket.

Possible Sri Lanka XI: Avishka Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Karunaratne, Akila Dananjaya, Maheesh Theekshana

Sri Lanka, champions in 2014, and Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands Oman, PNG and Scotland, feature in Round 1 of the 16-team tournament, being hosted by India in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman through to 14 November. The top two teams from each group of Round 1 will make it to the Super 12s.

The following 15 member final squad was selected by the Cricket Selection Committee to take part in the ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup 2021, which will be played in UAE and Oman from 17th October to 14th November 2021.

  1. Dasun Shanaka – Captain
  2. Kusal Janith Perera
  3. Dinesh Chandimal
  4. Dhananjaya De Silva – Vice Captain
  5. Pathum Nissanka
  6. Charith Asalanka
  7. Avishka Fernando
  8. Bhanuka Rajapaksa
  9. Chamika Karunaratne
  10. Wanindu Hasaranga
  11. Dushmantha Chameera
  12. Lahiru Kumara
  13. Maheesh Theekshana
  14. Akila Dananjaya
  15. Binura Fernando