Sri Lanka President-elect Ranil Wickremesinghe is scheduled to take oaths as the 8th Executive President of Sri Lanka before Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, PC on July 21 morning at the Parliament complex.

The members of Sri Lanka parliament voted to elect acting President and Leader of the United National Party Ranil Wickremesinghe as the 8th Executive President of Sri Lanka.

The Secretary-General of Parliament Dhammika Dassanayake announced to the House that Ranil Wickremesinghe has been elected as the Succeeding President by Parliament by a majority vote with 134 votes.