In a significant political development, the Uttara Lanka Sabhagaya, also known as the Supreme Lanka Coalition, announced its decision to vote in favor of a no-confidence motion against Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene. The decision was made during a Party Leaders’ meeting held today, responding to the controversy surrounding the approval of the Online Safety Bill.

Opposition parties, led by Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa, initiated the No-Confidence Motion against Speaker Abeywardene, citing irregular procedures in the approval of the Online Safety Bill.

The move has garnered support from the Supreme Lanka Coalition, a political alliance comprising seven Sri Lankan leftist and nationalist parties. The coalition, formed in 2022 amidst the economic and political crises, holds 15 seats in the Parliament of Sri Lanka. (