Meerigama to Kurunegala stretch of the Central Expressway will be declared open for the public on January 15 by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa. The stretch comprises four lanes and five interchanges in Mirigama, Nakalagamuwa, Dambokka, Kurunegala and Yaggapitiya.

The second phase of the Central Expressway from Mirigama to Kurunegala is nearly 39.7 km between two cities within just 20 minutes.

Interchange Centres with Automatic Charge Counters have been set up in Mirigama, Nakalagamuwa, Dambokka and Kurunegala.