Asia Cup 2023 will commence on 31 August with Pakistan and Sri Lanka hosting matches and the final set to be played on September 17.

The dates for the 16th edition of the Asia Cup has been announced with Pakistan set to host four matches and the rest of the games happening in Sri Lanka. The tournament will begin on August 31 and will run until September 17.

India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Nepal will participate in the tournament which has a total of 13 ODI matches.

The tournament will feature two groups of three teams apiece this year with the top two making it to the Super Four stage. 

The top two teams of the Super Four then play the final on September 17. 

India, Pakistan and Nepal are in one group while Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan form the other.

Nepal had qualified for the main tournament after beating UAE in the final of the ACC Men’s Premier Cup in Kathmandu earlier in the year.

Sri Lanka are the defending champions, having beaten Pakistan in UAE last year in the final.