The President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of  Sri Lanka, Ranil Wickremasinghe in his capacity as the Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces has promoted Air Marshal Sudarshana Pathirana to the four star rank of Air Chief Marshal with effect from today (29 June 2023).

Air Chief Marshal Pathirana took over as the 18th Commander of the Sri Lanka Air Force on 03 November 2020 and is scheduled to relinquish his command today (29 June 2023) at Air Force Headquarters.