Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena and State Ministers Tharaka Balasuriya, Janaka Wakkumbura and Kanaka Herath, MP Yadamini Gunawardena left for China to commence a four-day visit to the Yunnan Province in China yesterday.

The Prime Minister’s Office said that they arrived at the Kunming International Airport this morning (Aug 15).

The Prime Minister and the delegation were received at the airport by the Vice Chairman of the CPPCC Yunnan Provincial Committee Zhao Jin, Protocol Chief and other senior officials and Charge D’Affairs at Sri Lanka Embassy K. K. Yoganadan and other officials of the mission.

The Prime Minister will be the Chief Guest at the 7th China-South Asia Expo, jointly hosted by the Chinese Ministry of Commerce and the Yunnan provincial government, will be held from August 16 to 20 in Kunming, China.
According to Expo organizers, 60 countries will participate in this gigantic trade display. They include all South and Southeast Asian countries, and RECP member countries.

The 7th China-South Asia Expo is considered to be the most important economic and trade exchange events between China and South Asian countries. The 15 large pavilions will focus on promoting economic and trade cooperation and cultural exchanges with South Asia, as well as devote nine pavilions for regional cooperation, resource, industrial park, port, biopharmaceuticals and health, cultural tourism, modern agriculture, digital economy, and advanced manufacturing.

In addition to holding discussions with Chinese leaders on bilateral relations, economic cooperation, trade and investments, the Prime Minister is scheduled to Visit Yunnan Academy of Agricultural Science, Yunnan Provincial Energy Investment Group Co. Ltd. or Sinohydro Bureau and Photovoltaic Power Station of Yunnan Provincial Energy Investment Group Co. Ltd in Kunming and Gusheng Village and Experimental paddy field of Yunnan State Farms Group, Erhai Ecological Corridor, Exhibition and Experience center of Xiaguan Compressed Tea in Dali.

The Prime Minister is accompanied by Secretary to the Prime Minister Anura Dissanayake.